August 2, 2013

  • The Bridger-Teton Express, Part 1: Cokeville to Afton

    Thursday, July 18, was a seminal day along my path of purification.  It’s never easy to cast out one’s own demons, so to speak. Yet, if I did not accomplish this, I would well be casting some very special relationships adrift.

    I woke early enough in Cokeville’s Hideout Motel to grab some breakfast from my cooler and a cup of in-room coffee, before setting off  to check out some of the Bridger-Teton National Forest, en route to Afton, home of my friends, Derek and Sima Cockshut.  This route goes through a tiny sliver of Idaho, between two large swaths of Wyoming.  Here, we are back in the Rockies, in the far west of the Equality State.

    SAM_5384    SAM_5386

    These scenes are near Salt River Pass, which keeps Afton a bit isolated from southwest Wyoming, in the severity of winter.

    It wasn’t long, though, before I spotted the comfy Main Street of this mountain paradise, and smelled fresh chocolate, at my friends’ shop.

    SAM_5389

     

    The complex, on the west side of the main street in Afton, also features a Baha’i Faith Meeting Place, with a growing library, for independent study and reflection, a key tenet of our Faith

    SAM_5390    SAM_5392

     

    My friends are busy throughout the day, producing the fine chocolate which has traveled as far afield as Afghanistan and Europe, during the shipping season, of October- May.  Calm, self-assured Derek, and effervescent, talkative Sima are a study in opposites, but they are opposites who have attracted for 45 years.  I am honoured to have known these fine folks, off and on, since 1985.  I also have an affinity for their several varieties of chocolate.

    SAM_5391      SAM_5393

    Across the street from Star Valley Chocolates, there are a Baha’i-owned floral shop and several other laid-back establishments.  The Olympian, Rulon Gardner, and his family are Afton natives and have a signal presence here in the Star Valley.

    SAM_5388

     

    I spent about thirty minutes here, as the day was proceeding at a faster clip. and much remained.

    Next:  The Bridger-Teton Express, Part 2- The Snake River Valley

Comments (4)

  • I envy your travels in a good way.  for me, visiting the colorado rockies has always been an uplifting experience. & chocolate on the road always tastes better

  • There's always something about high altitude air, vegetation, and wildlife that is refreshing and conducive to reflection.  This looks like beautiful country, Gary!

  • @wrybreadspread - @slmret - This is indeed awesomely beautiful country and now that people are again reading my posts, I will continue to share them here.  

  • @RighteousBruin - That would be wonderful -- I'm beginning to trip over myself finding all my friends' blogs!  Now that Xanga is no longer on life support, I'm hoping others will come back too.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories