July 31, 2013

  • July 17- Meeker to Cokeville

    I left the Rifle area and soon found myself in the delightful town of Meeker, which seems like a mix of counterculture and cowboy culture.  Here I was able to catch up with the news of the road, at a small coffee shop.

    SAM_5349

     

     

    The area between Meeker and Hamilton is prime ranch country.  There are a few reservoirs, here and there.

    SAM_5350         SAM_5352

    SAM_5354

    Around noon, I came into Craig, northwest Colorado’s social and economic hub.  Craig is more workaday than its more famous neighbour, Steamboat Springs, but has its share of culture.  The regional museum is here.

    SAM_5356           SAM_5357                                                      SAM_5355

    In Carelli’s, a local pizza parlour, student art is proudly put on display.

    SAM_5359    SAM_5360

    The last major geological feature in northwest Colorado is collectively called  Fortification Rocks.  This is a memorial to both sides in the Moffat County Indian Wars.

    SAM_5363   SAM_5365

    A short ways up the road, I was pleased to be greeted by two hawks.

    SAM_5367

    Colorado ran out of road, about 40 miles north of Craig, and I was fully in the Great Basin of Wyoming.  It was while driving through here that a funk took over, I lost my grip on my emotions, I misstated my feelings towards one of the most beautiful women I have ever known, and I was into the first spiritual lesson of my trip, which has already been discussed ad nauseam, elsewhere.  This is not Wyoming’s fault, or hers.

    Baggs, the first town I entered in Wyoming, has a small museum, dedicated to the range land of the upper Great Basin.

    SAM_5368  SAM_5369

    After blazing through the cloudy, bleakness of  the Red Desert, I reached Rock Springs, walked around the historic section of the old rail town and learned the consequences of my emotional outburst earlier in the day.

    The scenes of Rock Springs are typical of rail hubs in the Mountain West.  It is also a major player in both the coal  and shale oil industries.

    SAM_5370   SAM_5373

    SAM_5372   SAM_5375

    SAM_5374

    I could have easily stayed the night in Rock Springs, but the agenda for the following day included both Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, and I needed to move on.

    Passing Fossil Butte National Monument, I stopped to get a couple of views.

    SAM_5378  SAM_5380

    The night’s stop was in Cokeville, with supper at Blondie’s Diner, just before closing time.  My tired countenance made me sport for a rather raucous individual, who seemed to be the town bully.  I ignored his leers and jibes, and he left, with the teen boy who was his only audience, after about fifteen minutes.  The meal itself was good enough.

    SAM_5381

     

    Hideout Motel was needed that night, and was more than up to the task.

    SAM_5382   SAM_5383

    It occurred to me that my friend is far more of a woman, than I am a man.  Yet there was a tomorrow and I would press on.  This is a spiritual journey, and as in Star Wars, the only way is through.

    Next:  The Bridger-Teton, Cokeville to Afton.