May 7, 2016

  • A Few Tenets

    May 6, 2016, Phoenix-  This one comes a day late, mostly because I was at three different places today, and had to think about sleeping, instead of writing.  So my time-traveling mind pretends it’s still Friday.

    Anyway, I got another clean bill of health, this noon.  Someone who loves me very much has reminded me about keeping my skin moisturized.  The things we overlook are going to be noticed by those who want to keep us around.  (No, I’m not in a relationship.  My minder loves her husband, more than she does anyone else.  He is in excellent hands. I am just honoured to be an elder brother-figure.)

    This evening, I was being hectored by a conspiracy theorist, for not taking the chemtrails hoo-ha very seriously.  The whole thing made me think about my own tenets of living.  Here goes:

    1.  Think for yourself.  A mind is a terrible thing to let slumber.
    2.  Listen to those around you, but as Christ said: “Be alert to discern”.
    3.  All segments of society, and all parts of a community, state or nation, deserve to have a say in how the place is governed.
    4. The Internet, Google, Yahoo!, and YouTube are not necessarily sources of Truth.
    5. SnapChat, though, is true, even when one doesn’t want it to be- and it’s indelible.
    6.  A person could hike a different trail, in Arizona alone, every day for 20 years, and cover maybe 25% of all the trails in the state.  I’ll  enjoy the ones I do hike.
    7. Money is a tool.  Tools don’t belong in the hands of fools. (This is one lesson I learned, very well, a while back,)
    8.  This is as good a year as any to stay out of partisan politics.
    9.  I like getting up at the same time every day, including weekends.
    10.  When it rains, read.

     

Comments (3)

  • These are very good rules to live by. I have several credos myself. Foremost is "Never pay to be tortured" followed by "Don't take yourself too seriously".

  • @murisopsis: Both good rules, Val!

  • Number 8, yes, I opt out of politics till November. Well, maybe I will come in with a few comments now and then and maybe a 'see I told you' sometimes. :D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories