May 9, 2016

  • Maternal

    May 8, 2016, Prescott- Talking with my mother today, I learned she has a new smart phone- which I called her new “hobby”.  It’s great for her, at a certain age, to take up technology.  She wants to study every facet of it, slowly- so as not to get bollixed up. It was raining in the Boston area, as it was here, and was about the same temperature.  Everyone back there seems to be on an even keel, which I hope continues as long as possible.

    She thanked me for thinking of her.  I can’t imagine a time when I would not do so.  Mom gave the best of her life for the five of us, for over 40 years .(There was fourteen years’ difference between my youngest brother, now deceased, and me.)  Helping her, when we can, is more than poetic justice.  She remarked that she knows of some mothers, whose children have not spoken to them in years.  What a terrible thing to have happen!  I am something of a loner, but I can’t imagine not keeping in regular touch with my family members- especially my mother, my son and siblings.

    I wish for peace to be made, between those who are at odds with their parents, or their children.  There is no greater heartache, I would imagine, short of losing them to death.  Family is the bedrock of any society.  Happy Mother’s Day to all women who have nurtured a child to adulthood!

Comments (6)

  • I called my mother, who is far away, also. She also was pleased, and doing ok.
    There was a period of a couple years when we were at odds and didn't converse, but growing up, we had been quite close, so it is good we are talking/writing regularly again. She prefers "snail mail".

    As for myself, I had a pleasant, yet quiet mother's day. My boys were with me. I received cards, flowers, Milano cookies, and hugs, which are best of all. I can hardly believe we are all getting so old that I have one graduated from college, and one about to graduate highSchool this year.

  • Glad you still have a mother...and that you are close...my kids gave me a nice Mother's Day

  • Thanks for the well wishes! I was able to spend the day with son#1 and my in laws. Sadly son#2 had to work. It was a good day with lots of good food and good company. I was able to video chat with my mother Sat. night and we had a good visit. It is difficult now that she is so far away. When she lived in state I could go visit with her every couple months. Now, if I make it out there it is once a year...

  • Gary, I read over on McBerry's page that your Xanga expired too. I am sad to hear that. Yours was one of the pages I enjoyed reading. I cannot comment on WP since I do not have an account there, but it seems that's where many of those who have n't on to Xanga even in2.0 have merged there. I fear the drama seen in some sites, and value privacy of posts. Not knowing much about WP, I'm going to try to stay here if I can. I will have to see about making payment, but I hear they don't make it easy anymore. It's sad we who loved the site are all be t abandoned by the powers in control of the site. At least I can still read/comment, as I think you should be able to.
    If I don't see you again, I still have my po box, and we can occassionally check in via snail mail
    Namaste my friend.

  • Just saying hello for if you ever still check back here. I didn't post for a month, but am reinstated finally, yay.
    Wishing you well in all life's adventures. -c.

  • You are so right. It is a deep sorrow to have loved ones far away physically and also mentally. :( Blessings on you and your family.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *