December 9, 2015

  • Pandering

    December 9, 2015, Prescott- One of the things that harkened the collapse of the Roman Empire was the degree to which the elite maintained power by appealing to the baser instincts and cravings of the  masses.  I see a fair number of parallels between Rome, and both the United States and the Islamic State.  Both current entities maintain their status quo by pandering to the xenophobia and self-absorption of those who have struggled to merely make ends meet. How odd, that the worst of politicians maintain control by villifying those who are just like them.  I see little difference between the xenophobes here, and those in Iraq and Syria.

    I am seeing this unfold, too, in local communities.  Those who grasp at power will obfuscate, dissemble and spread rumours, to keep those they fear from getting involved too intimately with their public.  This happens both in government and in business- especially in “non-profit” enterprises.  I have been invited to join an effort, and have seen others be so invited, only to have the leadership who issued the invitations devolve into games of “gotcha”.  They, too, pander  to the fears of some whom they serve.

    True public service puts the needs of those who are being served above all other considerations.  When last I checked, such needs did not include having one’s baser instincts honed and exacerbated.

Comments (3)

  • I hope we have men who can move mountains in our country's future!

  • The petty politics seen in so many organizations is disheartening. I was just "invited" to nominate myself for one of 4 open seats on a committee. I've avoided this particular committee for many years since I know several of the long time members. I don't want to play their games by their rules on their court. They serve a ghost constituency and I have more meaningful pursuits... Avoiding the snare is often difficult. Run rabbit run!

  • @mcbery: @murisopsis: Men or women, to move those mountains. Val, you are wise to steer clear of the unappealing committee.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment