December 8, 2015

  • Square One

     

    December 7, 2015, Chino Valley- This morning, I presented the school’s director with the results of my tests, only to be told that it was too late, and that my replacement would be reporting for work on January 4.

    The song is never done, until Mickey Spillane’s woman of size lets loose.  So it is, with my formerly possible work situation at Mingus Springs Charter School. The song has been delivered. The upside, for the children, is that their third teacher of the year has a Special Education background. They need that skill set.  It is imperative, however, that she also prove to be a compassionate, loving soul, and, for now, I am taking it on faith that she is.  I will maintain contact with the families, and will know if things go awry.

    This job impelled me to become certified as an elementary teacher, something I had resisted for a while, out of the ignorant belief that it would require a lengthy regimen of coursework and another teaching practicum.  This proved not to be the case, and I will have a certificate in hand, by the end of this calendar year.  That will increase my worth in the Prescott and Chino Valley public schools.

    Square One has been my refuge, actually, most of my adult life, and from it, I have gone on to some amazing places, career-wise.  I presently have no way of knowing what 2016 holds in store, but am certain that the possibilities are far wider now, than they were two weeks ago.

    I will finish out my six days and be off.  The Spring semester, for now, will be first call, first served.

Comments (5)

  • I am sorry that you were late with your test results. Hope you will get another position soon.

  • I'm glad you are now officially certified at the elementary level! You are correct that it will give you more opportunities. This may be a blessing in disguise. Perhaps you will now get a job offer that really will be the best thing in life. I wish we had more credentialed and competent substitutes in our schools!

  • @ZSA_MD: @murisopsis: I look forward to such an offer.

  • Hmm, my reply of yesterday did not show up. I'll repost it:
    It is good you have the cerificate, and although slightly sad that you cannot finish out the year where you started, I like your attitude, open to oportunities.
    I hope the new teacher serves the children well.

  • @ZSA_MD: @murisopsis: @Crystalinne: There are more people who think highly of me at that school than I thought. It is unfortunate that none of them are in a position of power, but that's the way of the world.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories