April 10, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 132: Nissan Altima

    April 9, 2015, Prescott-  I purchased my 2005 replacement vehicle this morning.  After a ten-mile test drive revealed the Nissan Altima to be everything I had been told about it, I completed the relatively short purchasing ritual, drove it home and got the insurance in order. I also arranged renter’s insurance, for good measure. Life is returning to normal.

    I am midway through my Traffic Safety Systems online course.  Hopefully, the 3/4 point will be reached tomorrow afternoon, and the course will be finished by next Wednesday, leaving me to schedule the proctored final examination, pass it, and so inform the Justice of the Peace.

    April still saw a slight loss of income; the Pacific Northwest and southeast Alaska await, in summer;  the real push for financial recovery will begin in August, and I will have until November, 2016, before another non-family-related journey looms.  The Nissan will help me through the bulk of it.

    Inside myself, that’s where the growth is happening.  I reflect that so many mental and spiritual toxins are being removed, have been shed, since 2011. I am far more cognizant of where I need to proceed. Last year, an apologist for the Santa Barbara shooter accused me, in rather vile terms, of being one of the underlying causes of the misogynist’s actions.  I had to give even his baseless invective a measure of consideration.  None of us are crystal-pure.  Yet,  I have to say that my desire for the women in my life is to see them, first and foremost, realize THEIR dreams and map out THEIR futures. This was where I arrived, after five or six years of marriage- and it is here that I comfortably remain.

    The accident, my only one in 48 years of driving, has proven a fulcrum for moving forward with growing spiritually all the more intensely.  That, and I have re-learned several salient points, about driving and about life, that were imparted to me, all those years ago, by Coach Len Wall.  Saturday evening, I had no “out”.  Now, I have several.

Comments (3)

  • Someone who exists and someone who lives is often defined by how they handle adversity. I can tell that you are living - and living well to boot! When the day ends and you lay your head on the pillow, the only opinion concerning your life that matters is your own.

  • You are a good man Gary, and a wonderful citizen of this earth.
    Good luck with the exam and the interview with the Justice of the Peace.

  • I will not be interviewed by him. He just assigned this course, as a way to avoid the indignity of points on my record, after so many years of good driving.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment