April 12, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 133: Silver and Gold

    April 10, 2015, Eloy, AZ-  Three of us took a drive down here, from Prescott, this evening, and will spend the better part of the weekend in conference with about 50 other people, on the relationship of the Baha’i Faith to our wider society.  I will write more about that, in the next two posts.

    More urgent for me, today, is another consideration of my expanding and evolving circle of friends.  I don’t use people, nor do I let myself be used.  Some “friendships”, in days long past, have ended abruptly, once I got the idea that the person was not to be trusted.

    All in all, though, I am very rich, in the friends department.  I will not want for hugs, warm greetings, and help when I need it- from my longtime friends who, as the old song says, are “gold”.  Neither will they want for reciprocity from me.  I have recently made more new friendships, and let the silver stock build also.  These friends, two in particular, bring artistic bounty to my world.  I have missed that, somewhat, since Penny’s voice was stilled.

    I thought of this, on the way down, as I momentarily felt alone.  There was something else, also. When there is disagreement between people, however slight, one must have the presence of mind to know that there are others who will reassure each person, and help their respective journeys resume.  We need both “silver” and “gold” friends, to reinforce the structure of our own self-worth.

Recent Comments

Categories