July 8, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Day 8: Versailles. Part 3- The Town

    Mesmerized as I was by the gold, marble and extraordinary spread of the chateau and its grounds and grand canal, finding the town that had both pre-dated the palace, and grown up around it, was a perfect finish to the day.

    Versailles is not anywhere near the grey, troubled suburbs that I am told ring Ile de France.  It stands quite proudly on its own.

    Here are some scenes from this marvelous little city.

    First, here is Grande Ecurie du Roi (the King’s Stables), the first site I encountered, upon leaving the palace ground

    SAM_9310

    Next came the east end of  the District of Notre Dame, named for- you guessed it, the cathedral.  Every major city in France has a cathedral, or a parish church, named Notre Dame.  The cathedral in Versailles could stand proudly next to any given counterpart in France.

    SAM_9320

     

    We will see the cathedral in a bit, but first, making my way westward, I found Eglise Protestante Unie de France.   The Huguenots were terribly repressed by the House of Bourbon, making their presence in this town especially meaningful.

    SAM_9312

    Next to the Protestant church is Place Hoche.  Louis Lazare Hoche was the commander of the Revolutionary Army. Louis Philippe I authorized statues of Hoche, as a token of national unity.

    SAM_9318  SAM_9316

    It was then time for me to visit Cathedrale Notre Dame de Versailles.  Here is a view of the heart of Distrite Notre Dame, followed by the cathedral itself.

    SAM_9322

    SAM_9319

    SAM_9332      SAM_9340

    I could look at stained glass all day long, contemplating the interplay of light and colour.  Here are a few of Versailles Cathedral’s offerings.

    SAM_9324    SAM_9331

    SAM_9353    SAM_9354

    Paintings and statuary interplay here as well.

    SAM_9339  SAM_9346

     

    One noticeable difference between French churches and those in the U.S, is the seating arrangement.  many cathedrals in France have rows of small individual wooden chairs.  Some have seats of wicker.

    SAM_9328

     

    Upon bidding this fine little cathedral farewell, I came upon a pigeon which was quite different in colour from the rest of the considerable flock, along Rue Rameau.

     

    SAM_9355

     

    Next, slightly to the north, was Distrite des Antiquaires (Old City).  Old Versailles is not as ancient as some of the other cities I visited, but the streets are quite narrow.

    SAM_9357

     

    Hotel du Bailliage was used as a prison by the Bourbons.  Just behind it, to the east, is Little Italy, Versailles-style.

    SAM_9358 SAM_9362                                                                           SAM_9363

    Hotel Cheval Rouge was built in 1676, and remains one of Versailles’ premier establishments.

    SAM_9364

     

    Also in Distrite des Antiquaires is Hopital Olivie, a key facility during the 19th Century.

    SAM_9365

     

    I stopped at an old dairy, Goutte du Lait, only to have a rather stern father tell me this was his daughter’s pre-school.  I was allowed one photograph.

    SAM_9366

     

    Child safety always being one of my own passions, I headed towards Distrite d’Hotel de Ville.  City Hall stands, proud and imposing, in the center of it all.

     

    SAM_9370     SAM_9371

    Here is a view of Hesperides des Les Maneges, a prime apartment complex.

    SAM_9372

     

    Cathedral de Saint-Louis, across town from Notre Dame, is also quite impressive.  I joined a laid-back pair of artistes for a short tour, whilst waiting for the train back to Paris.  This cathedral seemed somewhat lighter and airier than Notre Dame de Versailles.  It is named in honour of St. Louis the King.

     

    SAM_9379                      SAM_9383

     

    SAM_9384

    Thus, my very full day in Versailles came to a happy close.  To celebrate, I had a fine dinner near my hotel.  If you are ever on Rue de Faubourg Montmartre, I recommend Restaurant Sizin, a full-service Turkish establishment.  This is a cut above the ubiquitous kebab shops, which I also frequented during my journey.  (“Eat Me” is a different establishment, and my curiosity didn’t get the better of me.)

    SAM_9385

    NEXT:  Day 9, Part 1:  A Visit to La Louvre.

     

Comments (11)

  • Again, very beautiful. Even though I went to Versailles, I did not go into the city to look around as you did. This was very educational. I did walk up and down Rue Faubourg,however, it was not to eat, but to shop! Hah!

  • From what I've seen I think I'd enjoy Versailles more than Paris! It does look wonderful. I'm curious about the restaurant next to Sizin but I think the candy shop one over (I recognize the word "Caramel") would be worth a stop!

  • What an interesting town surrounding the Palace! Still rather opulent in comparison to what one would expect from the 17th century, but much more livable than the palace!

  • Zakiah, if you go to Paris again, Sizin might be a place you'd feel at home.
    I like to get a total picture of a town or city, when I visit. Thus, the town won out over going to Les Trianons.

  • Absolutely gorgeous!

  • Thanks,Marica. :)

  • wonderful photos but I was suprized by the hard back chairs.

  • I was surprised, too. The people are probably pretty much inured to them, by now. Then again, it doesn't seem like all that many people go to church in France anymore.

  • I am like some of the others with the wooden chairs. Surprising in the middle of all the amazing stone and marble and beautiful walls with the stained glass windows. Sad that not very many go to church in France. Maybe they find more of God in the fields and mountains? Love the old majestic buildings but am so glad to be an American with our wide open spaces and many wonderful people, aside from old deranged politicians. Hehehehe.

  • Once more, I'm impressed.

  • Europe is indeed crowded. The people have adapted well to this, and I did, too, with people rushing about on foot, cyclists everywhere and everyone seemingly on a schedule. It is relaxing to be in nature, both here and over there, but yes, our spaces are so much more open.
    Thanks, John.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment