July 12, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Day 9: Le Musee du Louvre, Part I- The Entrance and Immediate Neighbourhood

    June 4, 2014- During my time in Europe, there were only two rainy days.  This was one of them, but I was going to the Louvre!  My Wednesday would be spent with six hours in this grand museum, two or three hours in the southeast quadrant of the Left Bank (Paris City Hall, Notre Dame de Paris, La Sorbonne),and topped off by a jaunt over to Trocadero and visit to the apartment where ‘Abdu’l-Baha lived on the first of His three visits to Paris (1911).

    I caught a bus over to Rue Rivoli and dawdled just a bit, around Tour St. Jacques and L’Eglise de St. Merri, two architectural gems just west of the Louvre, in Place St. Jacques.

    SAM_9386

    SAM_9387

    I met the tour guide and our group, at the tour office,with five minutes to spare, and we all walked over to France’s signature museum, with no rain falling while we were en route.  There would be no lines, as we were in a pre-paid tour, but we were to mind our photography etiquette and keep an eye out for pickpockets.

    The visitor is greeted in the Courtyard by scam artists bearing clipboards and “petitions”, Roma bearing gold rings and I.M. Pei’s Pyramide.  I like the structure, and it does fit, as the first exhibit one sees in the museum itself is the Egyptian Room.  Let’s start this segment with a look at the west courtyard.

    SAM_9390

    We entered the museum and got a look at the original walls of the Louvre, when it was a fortress, during the reign of Louis XIII.

    SAM_9400

     

    SAM_9391

    Below, we see a water catchment.

     

     

    SAM_9405

    Here is a look at the wall’s thickness.

    SAM_9409

     

    With this, we began our visit to Section Sully, the Egyptian Antiquities Collection, and two hours of some of the world’s greatest art, which you will see in the next two posts. :)

    Once the guided tour was over, I spent two more hours in the Greek Antiquities Room and the French Renaissance Gallery.  After lunch at Chez Paul (the cafeteria), I headed outside to the Inner Courtyard

    SAM_9493

     

    It was dry!  I happily exited upstairs, and headed across the street to L’Eglise St. Germain d’Auxerres, the first stop on my anticipated walk to Sorbonne, via L’Ile du  Cite and Notre Dame de Paris.

    It started drizzling as I was approaching St. Germain.SAM_9495

     

    I went in this marvelous church, on the Musee’s east flank, and spent about forty minutes inside. I was greeted by Madonna, Child, and Three Magi.

    SAM_9497

     

    Angels graced the archway.

     

     

     

     

    SAM_9498

     

     

    The scene of Christ being taken down from the cross was a key feature of the confessional chapel.

    SAM_9507

     

    As with any church, though, the most majestic sight was the altar.

    SAM_9509

     

    When I left the church, it was pouring, and the street and sidewalks were rapidly being inundated.  Thus, my outing to the Left Bank is left for a future date.

    So it is the Musee du Louvre is framed, west, east above and below.  In the next post, I will highlight Egyptian and Greek art of the antiquarian kind, followed by a post devoted to the Italian and French Renaissance collections, with a nod to Louis XIV and his displays of wealth.

     

Comments (5)

  • I think I'd have a hard time pulling my attention from the architecture to the art within the Louvre! Marvelous stuff (if only it wasn't in Paris... I'm not sure I want to go there but it might happen just because there is so much to see!

  • You never know, Val. I wasn't sure I'd make it over there, until I actually bought the plane ticket.

  • Wonderful shots, Gary -- I remember the Louvre without the pyramid, when you walked in at street level. Am looking forward to the next couple of posts, too!

  • Thanks, Janet and Jill. The Pyramid was largely Francois Mitterand's idea, so that his rule would be remembered distinctly.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment