February 13, 2016

  • A Bit About Frugality

    February 12, 2016, Prescott-  Today's prompt calls for using a quote from a famous diarist.  Who better for this, than the great Samuel Pepys?

    “He that will not stoop for a pin will never be worth a pound.”
    ― Samuel PepysThe Diary of Samuel Pepys: A Selection

    Ben Franklin, William Shakespeare and W. C. Fields all had things to say about pinching small coins.  So did my father, God be with him.

    Hon. Pepys, Member of Parliament in his time, looked a tad like William Shatner, and spoke like Mr. Franklin.  His mantra, and mine:  "Waste not, want not".

    I use things to their fullest, and though generous when I have it to share, I really don't like throwing money in the air, so to speak.  Some regard me as profligate.  That is their entitled opinion.  I honour my commitments and live by the advice of the great financial consultant, Dave Ramsey.

    What has this to do with Samuel Pepys?  He, too, was a man of limited means, who wasted nothing, and expected less.  He got to travel a bit, as he served in the Royal British Navy.  I have traveled, more than a bit, because I seek to serve my Lord and because I have wanted to pay homage to my late father-in-law and to the plans my late wife and I made, years ago, which never came to fruition, while she was on this Earth.

    Frugal?  Not in substance, but definitely in spirit.  Don't believe me? Visit my home sometime, and look at my wardrobe. :)

Comments (6)

  • Love these wise words. Sometimes I feel foolish when I spend too much on something and find out it wasn't such a good deal. I think money spend on making and keeping memories is never wasted either. :)

    Hope you're warmer today than we are!

  • I am frugal by nature. We finally junked the 1991 Honda Civic wagon when it was 21 yrs old and son#2 wrecked the 1994 Geo Prizm when it was a mere 17 yrs old. The 2004 Vibe is still ticking as are the 2 new cars. I do believe many folks don't possess common sense when it comes to matters of money. Dave Ramsey fills the need to bring them into the light. We can be generous in time, talent and treasure. When we lack one of those we can make it up with the other. Seems a lot of people just want to use the treasure portion but organizations really need people's time and talent!!

  • @mcbery: We are in a warming trend. It may last until the middle of this week, or not.

  • @murisopsis: It is talent that creates treasure. This is how I am still above water. Dave Ramsey was a godsend for me, and I thrive mostly on cash, these days.

  • I took the Dave Ramsey course that was offered as a several week seminar at my workplace a couple years ago.
    I am a cash, rather than credit card, person too. I even paid for my college years semester by semester in full by working as I went, rather than taking out any loans. It's been nice not to have to worry about paying anyone back, and not having incurred any interest due.

  • @Crystalinne: You have made wise choices, in that regard. Brava!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *