September 2, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 278: Not Outworn

    September 1, 2015, Prescott-  I walked to work, this morning, and will hopefully do so again tomorrow, though I will need to get to bed soon, if I indeed am serious about that.  I spent a couple of hours with a friend, this evening, talking about the relative need for a renewal of Faith, to the extent of another independent religion.  Basically, I believe Revelation is progressive.  I also believe each individual is responsible for investigating spiritual truth for him/herself.

    It therefore follows that there is no outmoded spiritual truth.  Revelation can only expand on the base of teachings revealed beforehand. Traditions and practices, adopted by Man, over time, however, can prove to have outlived their usefulness.  It then falls, to the discerning person of Faith, to adapt to the needs of the times, without falling to the whims of the times.  Thus, it is unlikely that a Faith community will, for example, become the Holy Congregation of Cocaine, or the Sacred Temple of LSD.

    I will become more well-versed in the actual Scripture that spells out the case for Progressive Revelation.  Regardless, I fully stand behind everyone’s right to seek truth for themselves.  Now, it’s time to sleep.

Comments (3)

  • If we really seek truth I believe we can find it. :)

  • Are you walking to work to be healthy and/or do your part to reduce pollution, or is there a problem with your car again?

    There is a difference between religion and faith. Faith is personal.

  • @mcbery: Find it, we will!@Crystalinne: I am walking for health. My car is actually working just fine, of late. Yes, Faith is personal. Religion is more of the coda that people of faith elect to follow.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment