May 17, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Miles 168 & 169: Barriers

    May 15 & 16, 2015, Prescott to Flagstaff, and back-

    The past two days are combined into one post, as they featured three things in common:  The weather, which is unusual for Arizona in May; my disabled client’s move to Flagstaff and my car getting serviced, yesterday and then doing worse on the last part of my return to Prescott, this evening.

    Having grown up in New England, seen forty degree temps in Boston, the first week of June, 1970, and seen snow in Colorado, on July 31, 2013, I am actually okay with snow in the high country and torrential rain here.  It did make for an interesting 1 1/2 days.

    Client was not doing well in his last shelter- the manager was too much concerned with the business aspect of the operation, and put him out in the rain Friday night, until manager’s wife took him to a safe place, away from that house.  Screaming at people that “THIS IS A BUSINESSSSS!!” is hardly the way to run such.

    It took most of the day today (Saturday), but we got client’s belongings packed and into my car, then I drove him to Flagstaff.  We checked out the men’s shelter (chaotic, and rather a long wait in the cold), then I was able to get him into one of my favourite motels, for the weekend.  Monday will find him in the new mentor’s office, and he will move on.

    My car was serviced on Friday.  Regular maintenance and a cleaning of the upper manifold were meant to guarantee better performance.  The Nissan worked well, until the return trip showed a couple of ancillary dashboard lights on and off (not the “check engine” light, though).  The car stalled at several red lights, but I got home okay.  it being the weekend, I will return to the shop on Monday, and will leave the car until it is fixed.  Perhaps a rental car, or a bus ticket, will be needed for my journey north, next Thursday.  Time will tell.

    The common denominators for me, in all this, are detachment and perseverance.  So far, I’m no worse for the wear.

Comments (2)

  • So sorry that the new car is having issues. On the other hand it is kind of you to have assisted the client one more time. His choices are not a reflection on you. You have done your best by him and that is all that is needed. It must have been a relief to see him safely ensconced in Flagstaff. I hope all the car issues are resolved before your journey!

  • I will make sure the car issues are resolved, one way or another. I am satisfied that client's situation now falls to someone else to settle- preferably himself.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment