May 1, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 153: The Flow

    April 30, 2015, Prescott- We each reach the point,in our grief process, where the events of our present existence take the precedence they deserve, over constant thoughts of the departed loved one. That said, it only takes a small trigger to bring it all back- if only for a short time.

    Some regard it their solemn duty to act as “reality checks”, forcibly keeping the bereft person “focused”.  I had family members who did this, in 2011, mainly because they had either no direct experience with grieving a next of kin or because the experience they did have was so extreme in severity, that they had little choice but to carry the poor soul forward.

    In my case, I went through  confusion and lack of focus, in the first year of grief; a new appreciation of life, in the second year; misplaced attachments to others, in the third; and, at present, a more concrete concern with reality.  Each stage has had its spiritual component, and each, its learning curve.

    I have many well-wishers, a few, scattered, haters and a dedicated cadre of friends and family, on whom I can rely for just about anything.  As others in my circle face their own first, second and third stages of grief, I find myself being ready to wrap my spiritual arms around them and feel the concourse of spirits guarding us all.

Comments (5)

  • Because you are so in tune with your spiritual status, I'm sure you would be a good sounding board for others in the process of grieving. The memories never leave us and that is a comfort but being fully alive to the possibilities of today creates a new and better reality.

  • I agree with Val. you are so tuned to not just your way of dealing with the profound grief, but also empathize with others and help them with your spiritual and emotional help.

  • Thank you for saying so. I sometimes feel overwhelmed, as I have the past few days, but it feels good to pull myself together, for the benefit of others.

  • Sometimes we go through grief so we can comfort others later. :( It's not fun. I think maybe people go through stages and then go through them again in different ways. Life isn't easy. God bless.

  • @mcbery: Life isn't easy, but it sure can be rich.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment