March 27, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 118: Consistency

    March 26, 2015, Prescott-  My client walked out of his shelter, this evening, because he dislikes the rules.  He may want to revert to leaning on me for support.  This time, though, he has made a stark choice.  It’s no longer freezing at night, so guilt is not a tool to be used.  This time, from my perspective, he will be moving on.

    Life is full of choices, and my choices are to maintain my independence, focus on the needs of my biological family, and on the legitimate needs of those who are actually suffering.  There is an organization in town, called “Angels of Prescott”.  They, and the Red Cross, will get the bulk of my time and energy, outside of work.  The kids will get my full attention, otherwise.

    It is necessary, in life, to be consistent.  There are just too many vagaries and changes in the world around us, for a person to bounce from one goal or set of behavior to another, and still expect a successful outcome, or a sympathetic human climate.  Steadiness of purpose and unconditional love are not mutually exclusive, though, and in fact. real caring, empathy for others depends on a person being reliable in behavior, and in response to challenges.

    Those who expect others to tend their rose gardens, without fail, are doomed to not smell the sweetness.

Comments (3)

  • So true. We have to take care and focus on the important things.

  • I agree that consistency in action and an unwavering compass (pointing toward specific goals) will result in a steady and stable life. Too bad that some people never learn that there are consequences for all actions and that not every choice that ends badly gets an automatic "redo"!

  • Exactly, and the rock in my shoe is learning that he can't be jumping back into it, just because it's cold outside.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment