October 13, 2014

  • A Small Time Mariner's Voyage, Day 1: California Musings

    October 11, 2014- I set out for San Diego on Friday night, actually, from this point in a town called Chino Valley,

    AZ, where a few of us played musical instruments and sang as a send-off for what I hope is my last journey out of the Four Corners region, for a while.  I love the journey, but have a hard time with the backlash from those who don’t get that I actually care about them.  The fact that these are family members doesn’t make it any easier.  Maybe once they see that I am staying close to home, and am working as hard as they are, things will get better between us.

    Now, back to the subject at hand. My friends, the Brehmers, were hosts at the jumping-off gathering.

    SAM_2898

    As I drove across Arizona’s Outback, it was notable that two towns with which I am familiar, Wenden and Salome, had been drenched by the remnants of Hurricane Simon.  These towns in the western Sonora Desert are normally bone-dry.  Yesterday and today were different, though.

    I got to Blythe, on the Colorado River, and stopped for the night, at Relax Inn.  It was a bit sultry, as the AC had quit, but I slept well, anyway.  This morning, I got up, ate a quick breakfast at Steaks and Cakes, and blazed to San Diego- getting into town around 3 PM.

    This weekend, America’s Hometown celebrates Oktoberfest AND Italian Heritage Days, so rooms were at a premium, and scarce.  I got a spot at Premier Inn, on Pacific Coast Highway, near Old Town, and set out for Little Italy, taking my first ride on San Diego’s trolley.  One of my favourite Italian restaurants, Filippi’s, awaited, as did the Chalk Art Festival, stretching from India Street to Amici Park.

    SAM_2903

    SAM_2904

    SAM_2905

    SAM_2906

    SAM_2907

    The presence of lilacs, and of Italian cypress trees, adds a grand ambiance to the already bellissimo Little Italy.

    SAM_2902

    SAM_2909

    After an especially fabulous meal at the never-disappointing Filippi’s, I ended the evening with a walk over to Horton Plaza, in the heart of downtown.  The shopping mecca now has its own obelisk.

    SAM_2912

    San Diego is never a disappointment.  The day ahead  would bring me to another city which holds out promise in that regard:  Honolulu.

Comments (14)

  • The chalk art is amazing! I am always taken by the intricate and painstaking work that is put into these temporary works.

    • People do well, letting their imaginations take flight in this sort of event.

  • I agree, the chalk art is beautiful. We stayed in Chino Valley last spring. Sounds like you will be having exciting travels. Stay safe and healthy!

    • I made it, just fine, Miriam. I loved the journey, and now will love being home tomorrow. :)

  • Love the chalk art. Lots of talent out there.

  • I agree with everyone here. The chalk art is my favorite.

    • I love it when we have the chalk art festival in my town, also.

  • I can only think of the way these artists have to kneel and paint on the sidewalks. I am always thinking of knees, now that I cannot kneel on the prosthetic knee of mine.

    • I feel for you, Zakiah. I cherish my knees, for as long as I have them.

  • Wow, that chalk art! Only to know that it easily smudges and will wash away with a rain. :(

    • It is understood by the artists that it is temporary, so no big.

  • Sounded like an awesome time! Glad you're doing well. Deactivated fb so am on here lol.

    • I will continue on here, as long as the Admin does right by us members.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment