September 25, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Appendix: Two Washington-Area Gardens

    August 2-3, 2014- So as not to belabour the point, this post will be concerned with my visit to two beautiful gardens, while in Washington, last month, for the interment of my father-in-law.  The first is solemn, and relatively new:  The Pentagon 9/11 Memorial, which is a five-minute walk from my hotel in Arlington.  The second is a golden oldie:  The United States Botanic Garden, an arm of the Smithsonian Institution, with plants from around the globe.

    First, the Pentagon Memorial.  It is, somehow, the most controversial of the three memorials to the fallen of that horrific day. I think that those who disbelieve it ever happened are just not capable of processing a real-time tragedy, on such a grand scale.  The same is certainly true of the Holocaust.  Yet, these events did take place, and innocent lives were lost.  The plane disintegrated into tiny fragments, the wall was decimated on the west side of the Pentagon, and the area is now a suitable memorial for those who took off, and never landed, on September 11, 2001.

    Here are some of the scenes, starkly beautiful.

    SAM_2464

    SAM_2466

    SAM_2467

    SAM_2468

    SAM_2469

    SAM_2472

    SAM_2473

    The scene below shows a small memorial in the far background, a three-pronged steel sculpture set up by the Marriott Corporation, near its Pentagon-area hotel.

    SAM_2474

    No matter who one thinks is responsible for these heinous acts, the important things to me are the loss of innocent life, and the need to say, and mean, “Never again!”.

    On Sunday, August 3, I spent a more joyful hour at the United States Botanic Garden, along the Smithsonian Row, south of the US Capitol.  Here are several scenes of that exquisite place.  As you can see, there are plants from rain forests, English and Japanese gardens and deserts alike.  I was drawn to the Mistletoe Cactus, though I can’t envision two lovers embracing in its midst.

    SAM_2495

    SAM_2514

    SAM_2515

    SAM_2517

    SAM_2498

    SAM_2500

    SAM_2501

    SAM_2502

    SAM_2503

    SAM_2505

    SAM_2507

    SAM_2508

    SAM_2519

    SAM_2520

    SAM_2521

    SAM_2522

    SAM_2524

    SAM_2529

    This was the perfect counterpart to my secular pilgrimage along the National Mall. I think the saner members of Congress must find there way here, on a regular basis.  My Eastward Homage would end the next day, as I said farewell and see you again, to one of the most powerful men I’ve ever known.

Comments (4)

  • I hadn't seen the Pentagon memorial. Very stark and sombre. I have always liked the gardens. DC has done a good job of making the spaces open to the public beautiful...

  • Seems to me, there are so many memorials nowadays that they all have lost something. We have memorial highways in our town, memorial bridges, memorial baseball practice fields and even memorial sidewalks. Can we really be expected to remember all these folks?

  • Love the pictures of the tropical flowers. I remember seeing that monument in DC when I visited the last time.

  • The local memorials mean the most to those who are close to the situation. We do tend to overdo a lot of remembrance, perhaps out of a sense of not wanting anyone to feel ignored.
    Nonetheless, I visit places that move me, emotionally, both dark and bright. Memorial sidewalks are indeed a bit much. Don't know as I'd feel honoured by such.
    Tropical, bright colours always lift my spirits.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment