June 4, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Day 7: A Paris Walkabout, Part 1, Tuileries

    I had started Monday, June 2, intending to tour the Louvre.  Several things transpired which made that not practical for this morning, so I switched Monday’s plan with Wednesday’s.  Thus, I spent 2 1/2 hours on Monday morning, walking Tuileries, the gardens and sculpture areas which were the grounds of the Bourbon dynasty’s Paris place of residence. Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette were confined here, after the Revolution of 1789.

    Confinement is a relative term.  The expanse that is Tuileries fronts a greater expanse, that we know today as the Louvre.  Here are some scenes from this fine garden area.  Actually, this statue of Jeanne d’Arc is across the street from Tuileries.

    SAM_8934

     

    The scenes below are in the park, though.

    SAM_8935

    SAM_8938

    SAM_8939SAM_8940

    SAM_8941

     

    I thought about not including the sculpture below, after being attacked online, as a “misogynist”, earlier this evening.  You know, though, unless a WOMAN comes on here and says that’s how she sees me, I’m not going to change who I am.  A man calling me “misogynist’ is like a white person calling another white person a racist, or a straight person tripping out on another straight’s “homophobia”.  I’m saying it here, all people are beautiful in the sight of God, and using terms of endearment towards people of the opposite gender is not wrong.  Both genders admire each other’s physical features, and both genders, at least among those of good will, value the WHOLE of another person.  THAT is what I believe;  end of rant.

    SAM_8943

     

    SAM_8948

    SAM_8950

     

    SAM_8951

     

    SAM_8957

     

    This lawn evoked “Alice in Wonderland”.

     

    SAM_8960

     

    SAM_8963

     

    SAM_8965

    SAM_8966

     

    This grove is indicative of the actual forest of the Bourbons’ time.

    SAM_8968

     

    SAM_8970

    SAM_8972SAM_8985

    SAM_8988

     

    SAM_8995

    Next, I will share the rest of the walk, at Place de la Concorde, along the Seine and at the Tour Eiffel.

     

Comments (7)

  • all the history is great!

  • A beautiful place! I really believe that sculpture can take a garden and elevate it to something more. Be true to yourself and please show us the beauty of all the places you visit!!

  • “misogynist”, because of that scupture. Weird.

  • Looks beautiful. I wonder about the crows in the nice lawn. Do they let them go or try to get rid of them? I agree, people are all important and valuable. There are too many in leadership trying to get us to yell at each other. :-(

  • It is a piece of masterful sculpture for God's Sake. Why would anyone criticize something so beautiful. People like that are just paranoid. Anyway, the pictures made me nostalgic. Looking forward to the place de concord. That impressed itself on me a lot. A lot!

  • I am finally able to leave a comment here. Ironically, my computer battery ran out of juice last night, while I was in the middle of posting photos about the rest of my walk around the banks of the Seine. I will get to that again, once the battery is recharged. Right now, I am using the hotel Business Center's computer.

  • The Tuileries is a wonderful place -- one could spend days there!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment