June 1, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Day 5: A Frankfurt Primer

    Many people have told me that Germany is a squeaky clean country, almost obsessively so.  That is no longer the case, at least with the obsessively clean part.  Around the Central Train Station, at several bus stops, and in some of the large apartment blocks, cleanliness remains a constant challenge.  The CST , or Hauptbanhof (Hbf), is still a very stately place, and a beehive within this greater beehive that is Frankfurt am Main.  Get used to my using the local names of things.  Everyone I have met here breaks out their English, as soon as I speak German (or French, for that matter,) with my North American accent.  It’s important to go halfway with these things, if we are ever to really understand one another.  Still and all, I will carry on here with putting the local term side by side with our English colloquialism.

    Here is Frankfurt Hauptbanhof, inside and out.

    SAM_8861

    SAM_8864

    SAM_8865

     

    SAM_8863

    I spent several minutes, once disgorged from the speedy train from Frankfurt International Airport, trying to find the bus stop for the route given me at the Information Booth. This is where my fatigue kicked in, and it took three other people being asked, before the Captain Obvious scenario played out, and I was en route to my Saturday night lodging.  I left my bags in the hotel’s safe, and was registered by a rather saturnine desk clerk.  When I returned from the mandatory hiatus, at 2 PM, I saw why:  A group of 75-100 university students were at the hotel for the night, with all that could imply.  The men outnumbered the women, almost 3:1, but I would hear no hanky-panky or excessive noise, during the night.  These folks have built a culture of deepening true friendship, and I hope it continues, without being side-tracked by “real world” distractions.

    I walked to the Frankfurt Messerhaus, the city’s major trade and exhibition hall.  On the way, I discovered a small wursthaus (sausage restaurant), run by a couple who are German/Polish.  They have been here in Frankfurt for twenty years, and have watched the world come to Germany.  Indeed, an African woman runs a grocery store, a Sri Lankan man has driven a taxi for  35 years, and East Asian people are everywhere.  We are at the point where EVERYONE is EVERYWHERE, and that’s a good thing, to me.

    Anyway, here is the hotel where 200 kids, and I, stayed last night.

    SAM_8872

    Many German homes maintain the “fairy-tale” quality that places them in so many of the “original” Grimm tales.

    SAM_8877

    That quality is enhanced by the evergreens nearby.

    SAM_8876

    Any economic powerhouse needs good parts for its engine.  These parts in Frankfurt are largely provided by he work done through the auspices of Frankfurt Trade Center, or Messershaus Frankfurt.

    SAM_8879

    Here is a look at downtown Frankfurt’s skyline and a couple of more light-hearted scenes.SAM_8882

     

    SAM_8884

    SAM_8885

    With that, I am tired by today’s long and full series of life lessons.  Tomorrow, a tale of transition between cultures.

     

Comments (8)

  • I love the photo of the dog! Seems no big city is immune from the graffiti "artists"...

  • I lament the loss of German cleanliness. But, maybe it's just as well that Germany looses the last vestiges of its Prussianism.

  • A long day, indeed -- and several hours of jet lag to deal with as well! What a lovely city Frankfurt is ~ ~ ~

  • I've never been there, but enjoy your telling about it. I suppose a hotel with 200 kids is a noisy one!? :-) Have fun on your travels. I assume you're on a secret mission? Hehehe. :P

  • so you did stay in a Hostel?
    my sister from Scottsdale loves to travel and been to Germany and all the other countries in Europe.
    I enjoy her photos,too

  • The hotel was not a hostel. The students appeared to have been an athletic group of some kind.

  • When I visited Frankfurt many years ago, I thought it was a very clean city. Try not to sleep during the day however tired you may feel. That's the only way to get over your jet lag.

  • Frankfurt is a lovely city. I have relatives who live in one of its suburbs and I spent a weekend in the city. So clean and exciting.

    I didn't know a lick of German when I was there in 2008 but I hope to return to Germany in 2017. By then I hope to know enough German to not be totally lost haha.

    Heh. My cousin wanted to take me to the "red light district" of Frankfurt when I was there. Um, no haha

    (But then I ended up strolling through Amsterdam's infamous district [during the early afternoon so nothing was really going on] four years later haha)

    Hope you're adjusted to the new time zone now. Enjoy the rest of your trip! :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories