May 22, 2014

  • Moving Seamlessly

    The young firefighter described his, and his unit’s, work, over the course of a year, as moving seamlessly from one set of tasks to another.  This is what I admire most about so many of those who have taken on difficult, dangerous and often thankless, unappreciated tasks as their life’s work.  The unit in question works under an administration which seems to neither understand nor care much for those under its charge.  That administration is getting a rather long overdue education today and tomorrow.

    I have said in the past that, even as I have good friends in every living generation, I am finding I relate best to Millennials.  The sense of commitment to a better world is just below the surface among all ages, yet nowhere is the energy and drive to truly create a functioning and equitable global society stronger than it is among teens and twenty-somethings.  Gen Z (those fourteen and under) seems just as promising, so this could be a confirmation that the world, towards which so many have striven,  is on its way, even as so much that is rotten needs to be cleared out.

    We may not move forward with absolute seamlessness, and there are plenty of non-angelic types among the younger generation, but as I move about the city of Prescott, around Arizona or across the country and to other parts of the world, I sense there is a purposeful mien among the youth.  It goes beyond idealism, which, if left to stand alone, becomes cynicism and gives way to creature comforts, drug abuse and paranoia. Maybe, with the current younger generations, the lack of time-honoured opportunities which many of us enjoyed as youth, has forced self-reliance, group action and innovation to the fore early on in their lives.  Certainly, technology has helped greatly, in that regard.

    I have come under a lot of fire from many of my fellow Boomers and from several Gen-X’ers recently, for my past few posts.  I can’t share their cynicism, though, and while contemplating the rest of my life, I can only see good things for the human race, in the aggregate.  Those of my contemporaries who agree with my assessment have been equally vocal, so maybe I, too, am moving seamlessly from one day, and one set of tasks, to the next.

Comments (5)

  • You're right about non-angelic types. Sometimes they're downright devilish! :P There are a lot of good people but the bad ones get all the attention making us paranoid. You weren't the tipsy poet were you? :D There was a lady in the gazebo and then walking with a plastic cup of beer and she was tipsy too. She was spilling it as she walked!

  • yes, I do like the younger generation and how they look at the world but I am glad I was born when I did cause I don't think I could keep up with the young.

  • I am never tipsy, and am not really much of a poet. :)

  • No generation is better than another.Not sure about happy.

    May all your moves be seamless.

  • Thank you, John. I am a lot more focused now, so moving about in the world is so much easier than it was, even a year ago. Happiness comes from within, as you well know.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories