May 17, 2014

  • Dystopia

    I have a propensity for watching TV shows and films which have a dystopian theme:  Revolution, The Black List, Person of Interest, Game of Thrones, Hunger Games, Divergent, Ender’s Game.  I mainly like to see how the protagonists solve their dilemmas, though in too many cases, the choice is “Blam, Blam”.  Revolution got old, and formulaic, so it’ll be consigned to Hulu after one last episode.

    Dystopia, the collapse of all we know and either love or hate, the primal turn to either a Lord of the Flies mentality, a Glengarry, Glenross or 1984 mindset, or both, seems to be much on everyone’s mind.  Despite my fascination with these shows, however, I don’t see an actual, full-blown dystopia as the long-term wave of the future.  Yes, we may very well endure a stretch of trials and tribulations, which won’t lend themselves to a quick return to “Business as Usual”, but I believe there will emerge something far better.

    People are bound to notice that there are those who are building a better, more organized and less officious civilization from whatever ashes to which the old systems lead.  Some won’t want anything to do with it, but most will, over a period of decades.  I have had several iterations of my own life, in which, as Baha’u’llah, Founder of the Baha’i Faith wrote “Poverty is followed by riches, and riches are followed by poverty…” His meaning is that material possessions come and go, but He is emphatic in saying that we will always have what we need.

    With Paul Simon, in “Peace Like a River”,  I see a glorious Day.

Comments (7)

  • I really enjoy dystopian movies, and Person of Interest is one of my favorite TV shows on air right now.

    I found a list on Wikipedia of dystopian films. I'm going to copy it into an Excel file and make it a goal to watch as many as I can.

  • I guess we are all looking for the answer.

    I like to stick with the winners and think I'm one of the "Others" who know the truth.

  • I have only seen snippets of the TV shows. Although people loved the Hunger Games, I did not read the books or see the movies... Lord of the Flies however has been revisited on several occasions. I have enough dysfunction at work and in real life - I tend to ignore the fictional stuff. I want to believe in a better society!

  • I like dystopian, if it makes sense. No Mel Gibson.

  • Your notion to have a dystopian marathon is interesting, Marica. I'll be watching to see how that turns out for you. John, old Mel's notions as Mad Max were a bit too campy for my liking. Jill and Val, I believe a better society will happen, but it'll be us following what the Lord wants, not just what WE want.

  • I don't care much for movies like these. Just my opinion. I read Hunger Games for our Book Club last year, and gave it a 5.5 while every one else gave the book a solid 8 or 9!

  • Your reads and viewing should suit your tastes and interests, and no one else's. :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment