April 14, 2014

  • Everyman's Place in the Sun

    Whenever I happen upon a beach resort that is oriented towards  the masses of American people, I am thrown back to my childhood- to beaches like: Lynn, Revere, Nantasket, Nahant, Crane’s, Plum Island and Wingaersheek, MA; Narragansett and Galilee, RI; Hampton and Rye, NH and Old Orchard, ME.  Millions are also familiar with Long Island, the Jersey Shore, Eastern Shore of Maryland, the Delaware Coast, Myrtle Beach, Virginia Beach, Waveland, MS and Daytona Beach.

    These places may remind some of theme parks, or WalMart, and like the latter,they are essential to the well-being of lots and lots of good folk.  I visited two such mass-oriented beaches, along the western edge of Los Angeles, on Saturday, March 22.  It would have been my late father’s 87th birthday, and Dad loved these kinds of places, so I joined the throngs, and had a blast.

    Venice, CA sits at the western tip of the City of Los Angeles, which operates the beach park that lies between upscale Marina del Rey and the bustling suburb of Santa Monica.  There is plenty of kitsch to go around, and I enjoyed an all-beef sausage sandwich from Jody Maroney’s, for a quick, satisfying lunch.

    SAM_8358

    I may be an adventurous diner, at times, but I am never too far from my roots.

    The next order of business, though, was the beach.  I was surprised that there were not that many people around the water.  Most of the action remained along the Promenade and in the park, inland from the beach.  I went into the water, just a bit, though.  It was exhilarating!

    SAM_8360

     

    SAM_8361

    SAM_8362

     

     

    SAM_8363

     

    In short order, though, I came to Venice Pier.

    SAM_8364

     

    With a nod to the few surfers who were headed out to play in the ocean, I went up to see how the fishermen were doing.

    SAM_8367

    People were a bit more even-tempered than those I encountered earlier, in Manhattan Beach.  Maybe the fish were more accommodating here.  An egret seemed to think so.

    SAM_8369

    The water looked refreshing, from pierside, as well.

    SAM_8366

    After about a half hour along the beach, I gradually made my way up to greener pastures.

    SAM_8371

     

    There were many colours in evidence on the People’s Wall.

    SAM_8372

    Venice’s downtown also is riot of shades and hues- building-wise.

    SAM_8373

     

     

    SAM_8376

     

     

    A snake charmer was doing a fine job of handling his serpentine friend, on one of these corners.  I decided not to take his photo, lest I capture something unfortunate.  He ended up doing his act just fine, though, so I gave him a small tip.

    SAM_8377

     

    “In the end, only kindness matters.”- Jewel  I will carry this message with me as well, from a bric-a-brac merchant in said Sidewalk Market:

    SAM_8378

     

    You’d have had a great time here, Dad.  I was glad to have had the chance to make the trip, in your stead.

    Next:  Santa Monica’s Beach and Pier

Comments (7)

  • It looks like a good time and not as crowded as I'd have expected... A nice celebration of your father and your childhood!

  • What a great ode to your father! Loved the pictures of the beaches, but skipped (scrolled down fast) the snake charmer. Cannot stand to look at them creatures!

  • a great way to celebrate your Dad!

  • I'm so homesick and I've been here in Texas for 45yrs now.

  • Zakiah, I didn't photograph the snake charmer. Be warned, though, his buddy, and a boa constrictor, MIGHT be in the next post, on Santa Monica.
    Dad wasn't much of a traveler, but he and Mom did avail themselves of Disneyland and Hollywood, when they came to SoCal for our wedding, in 1982.

  • The beach is central to all the activity, and yet relatively few enter the water.

  • It was rather cold water that day, John.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment