August 22, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 266: Derailing

    August 21, 2015, Prescott- 

    I sat and completed Alice Walker’s book of verse,

    While, on Wall Street, the kids played, “Let’s Make Bad, Worse.”

    I got more pleas for financial aid,

    “Yet the udder is dry”,

    Cried out the milk maid.

    The name of my game right now is “Wait”,

    While the derailing train lumbers past my gate.

    This little verse popped into my head, with the full knowledge that life is seldom either as grim, or as spiffy, as we tend to project.  I am currently reading “The Book Thief” and “Dragon and Phoenix”, both somewhat emotionally-challenging accounts of hard times, one based in history and the other, in science fantasy.  Both Christian and New Age accounts of what might happen, in the near future, are making the rounds, these days.  My take is, whatever gets thrown at us, the majority of us will be able to handle it, somehow and survive.  We might have to make some fundamental changes in how we do things, with, and to, one another, but we will be okay, as a planet.

Comments (5)

  • The Book Thief is currently my favorite book!!

  • I have read neither of those selections yet.

  • @murisopsis: @Crystalinne: I am reading these, simultaneously. After these, I will get into "The Peaceful Warrior" collection, which is only fitting, given that my website for WordPress is "peacefulwarrior9".

  • @RighteousBruin: Have you read any of Dan Millman's works before, or seen the movie adaptation? If not, may I ask how you came to choose your WP screen name?

  • @Crystalline: I read a children's version of "The Peaceful Warrior", to my clients, several years ago. I never forgot that story, so when I was choosing a website name, "peacefulwarrior9" came to mind, as the name itself belongs to Dan Millman.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment