July 29, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Miles 239-40: Random Thoughts on A Lazy Weekend

    July 25-26, 2015, Prescott- There was, on purpose, little on my agenda this weekend.  I went to a devotional gathering on Friday night, and caught up with my Chino Valley friends.  The meal is always great.  Actually, I end up with two meals, as the Veterans’ Potluck, where informal attendance is taken, happens the same night as the devotional.  I have the heart, and a discretional-enough eating habit to attend both events.

    Saturday gave me time to think, long and hard, about friends.  I know who the true ones are, here, online and in other parts of the country.  Those who have come and gone, at least meant well, initially-but fear, personality differences and age gaps can put a damper on any number of friendships. I was glad to have spent time with my faithful friends in California, Nevada, and Oregon and to have made a few new friends here and there in Alaska.

    I have an outside chance to work for the Red Cross, though the word is that the folks in Washington already have someone picked out for the vacancy.  We will carry on, regardless.

    This morning, (Sunday), I sat and bantered with the Old Major for a bit, then joined my Baha’i friends at Goldwater Lake.  It’s a fine, wooded, fishing reservoir, south of town, and we have gathered there, once a year, for a Cowboy Breakfast.  I don’t have leather boots or a Stetson, but I did bring the sausages for grilling.  One time, a couple of years back, I brought my solar oven along.  We tried toasting bread in it and ended up with sliced hard tack.  Heck, that’s part of a chuck wagon, right?

    Book wise,this summer, I have finished Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, Crota, Death and White Diamonds, The Fortune Cookie Chronicles, and Looking for Alaska, and am a bit more than halfway through Seven Years in Tibet.  Ive mentioned most of these before, but making a total list looks a bit better.

    I have developed a habit of deleting most e-mailed requests for money.  Along the same lines, I am getting rid of my land line phones, soon, since the only calls I get on them are from solicitors.  My true friends and family all have my cell # number.

    It was a nice weekend- little noise and the Second Wild Woman of the West, who frequents the bar & grill next door, wasn’t throwing any temper tantrums.

Comments (4)

  • Thinking long and hard is something people don't do enough of any more. We are all about sound bites and disposables. If it doesn't happen fast people get bored. I savor my "down time" when I can do deep thinking. Perhaps that is why the Scavenger Hunts appeal to me. They give direction to my though processes and thinking ahead for inspiration or organization of poems or stories is satisfying!

  • Pot luck dinners and cowboy breakfasts sound like a nice welcome home for you. (solicitation calls, not so much)

  • @murisopsis: Your posts, based on Scavenger Hunts, have indeed been quite intriguing.

  • @Crystalinne: Yes, food is always a great welcoming element.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories