July 26, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 236: Back to California, Day 6, Part 1- The South-Facing Coast

    July 22, 2015, Santa Barbara- The south-facing coast of California has fascinated me since I first came upon Santa Barbara, in 1980. My family only caught fleeting glimpses of the area in 1992, during a business trip to Santa Monica, and again in 1997, on our return from a visit to Santa Cruz.  It was enough, though, to make Refugio Beach a favourite and to make a personal vow to visit the interior of the “Old Mission”, as the residents here refer to Mission Santa Barbara, two miles from downtown.

    The day in this salubrious area will be posted in three parts: First, Lake Casitas, Carpinteria and the beach around Stearns Wharf are the foci of this post.  Next, I will present the grand Santa Barbara County Courthouse.  Lastly, the stage will be occupied by the Mission.

    As I stated earlier, this is the only part of the California coast that faces southward.  A compass on Stearns Wharf illustrates this.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    I began the day, though, with a brief stop along the northern edge of Lake Casitas, a reservoir and fresh-water fishing mecca for local residents.  The lake had been down, severely, over the past three years.  It looked a tad healthier today, from what I had seen in earlier photos.  Still, it has a good ways to go, and so a good, wet monsoon, followed by an El Nino soaking, would seem to be in order.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    Carpinteria is the first beach town that greets the traveler, coming northward into Santa Barbara County.  My main focus here was brunch, so I stopped at Jack’s Bistro and Famous Bagels.  Being from the East Coast, I am fussy about my bagels, but the pancakes here are delicious and Daisy was a very nice server.

    I took about a half-hour to look around downtown.  Beach-wise, my main focus would be Stearns Wharf, so I did not pay to stop at Carpinteria State Beach.  What caught my eye near Jack’s was the largest known Torrey Pine.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    The town is named for the industrious nature that the Spanish noted in the Chumash people.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    The historical museum did not open until 1, which would have set me still for two hours, and I was itchy to get to the Santa Barbara Courthouse, a marvel of architecture and interior art.  So, here is the south patio of the museum.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    The branch library, across the street, also has a Spanish flair.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    Santa Barbara’s main beach is a volleyball mecca, and there were at least five matches going on, as I walked from my parking spot to Stearns Wharf.  The tide was low, so there are no dramatic scenes in this post.  Nevertheless, the harbor is a beehive of activity and Stearns is one of the few wharves onto which one may drive, if that is your wish.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    The downside of the harbor is evident here.  There are three oil platforms on its outer edge.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    Earlier energy quests inspired this “Moby Dick” depiction, by Beth Amine.  Her original work was lost, when Stearns Wharf burned in 1998.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    Santa Barbara decorates its roundabouts well, especially downtown.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    Here is a bicycle roundabout, near the Volleyball Courts.

    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

    If I get back here sometime on a mini-jaunt, the focus would be on Refugio Beach and Goleta.  For this trip, though, spending more time downtown was in order.

Comments (6)

  • At least there are only a few oil derricks. :-) I hate driving around the country and have the view spoiled by wind generators. The ones they installed a in the last six years just over the Ohio line are ugly and most of the time there are a number of them that aren't working. Keeps me annoyed to think how much energy they cost to put there and how much is spent maintaining them. Oh well, I enjoyed your pictures. I suppose you may see a lot of things that annoy you. :D

  • @mcbery: I haven't seen much that annoys me. In southern California, west of Palm Springs, there is an extensive "wind farm", that is rather unsightly, but the generators all seem to be working, whenever I pass by there.

  • A bicycle round-about?! I've never heard of such a thing!! It is however a lovely piece of outdoor art!

  • I'm smiling about the east coast bagel comment. There was a time I lived with a family not my own, and many an evening the house mother and I would sit in the kitchen and talk over shared bagels. It's a pleasant memory, though I couldn't tell you where the bagels came from. What do you prefer for a toping, and do you toast yours? :)

    I also have never seen a bicycle round-a-bout. I wonder if there are many tourists who unknowingly ride over the art.

  • @murisopsis,@Crystalinne:Bicycles are supposed to ride on the streets -- the "bicycle roundabout" is actually a very lovely piece of sidewalk art in mosaic. People do walk over it, but many stop to admire it!

  • @slmret: Thank you. I couldn't tell it was mosaic from first viewing the photo, but now that you mention it, I can see lines defining different tiles.
    I would probably be one of those to stop and look, and walk all the way around to see what was on all sides.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories