April 26, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 148: Slingshot Day

    April 25, 2015, Prescott– I woke this morning, at 2:35, got shaven and dressed, then headed down to Phoenix Zoo, where an Oral Cancer Awareness Run/Walk was being held.  My volunteer position was the Raffle Table, where I sold tickets, oversaw the placement of tickets in various jars that were in front of prizes being raffled, and encouraged a couple of high school students who were walking about the grounds and selling tickets, as well.  The activity was most enjoyable and our happy mood drew many more people to the table, as they were curious as to the joyful atmosphere.  The old saying goes “Laugh and the world laughs with you.  Cry, and you cry alone.”  I have always found that to be a bit harsh, but I will go with the first part of it.

    Around 8:20 AM, I left to go back up to Prescott, the reason being that I also planned to help out at the School Garden Project, at Mountain Oaks Charter School, where I have a loose association with the administration.  Plus, Slow Food Prescott has made school gardens a priority, and I support that group’s legitimate activities, even if I don’t always like the people it attracts.  Anyway, I got back home, napped for an hour, and got over to the school in time to put together a woven bamboo fence, in front of the back vegetable garden. After a quick lunch, the project ended with weeding a section along the front fence, and spreading manure, for the sunflowers, gourds and corn that were planted there.  These activities, also, were done in a joyous atmosphere.

    That’s what service should be.  Contrasted with the sometimes grim and guarded posture that I find myself adopting, when dealing with aggressive homeless veterans, today’s activities were a breath of fresh air.  Tomorrow, I will focus more on paying respects to my departed friend, who served others constantly, in her own way.

Comments (4)

  • But, is it true though Gary, the saying about crying alone? I don't believe that is true. I cry with others, and my friends cry with me when I am sad. People cry when they see a sad scene on the movie screen. So, I think we all share, and share alike, be it laughter or tears.

  • Mirth can be as contagious as a sour mood! Glad to see that your positive attitude made for a successful raffle!! The school garden is a wonderful thing. My sons' elementary school had a garden and it was educational and productive - allowing them to donate the harvest to the homeless shelter!

  • @ZSA_MD: The person who said the quote most often is, ironically, one who has shown little sympathy for gloomy people. In my life, though, people do tend to get over their sadness more readily, if they feel understood in their sorrow. I tend to be one who holds and comforts a sad person.

  • @murisopsis: You have hit upon a wonderful way to get the homeless back on track, also. The community garden is becoming a key generator in the "farm to table" movement, which is getting traction.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment