March 21, 2015

  • The Road to 65, Mile 112: Spring Affirmations and Goals

    March 20, 2015,, Goodyear, AZ-  So, as I headed down to this western suburb of Phoenix, for a reunion with old friends, on the occasion of our Nineteen-Day Fast’s conclusion, the March Equinox brought Spring to the North and Autumn to the South.  The evening was mostly convivial, and I got to know someone, who had once been off-putting, a bit better.

    The occasion of Naw-Ruz, the ancient Persian celebration of the Vernal Equinox as New Year, has been adopted by the Baha’i Faith as our New Year.  More about this, in my next post.

    I used today as a time to formulate short-term affirmations and goals, for the season of Spring itself.  These are in the categories of personal, community and extended community.

    Personal- I will adhere to waking at 5:30 AM, each day.

    I have eliminated sources of frivolity from my daily routine.

    I will continue the regimen of daily health checks, morning devotions and exercise.

    I will add evening devotions to that daily regimen. (This being one activity that lacked consistency in my life).

    I will walk at least a half-hour after dinner, wherever I happen to be, every evening.

    Hikes will continue to be a regular part of my weekly regimen.

    I will continue with random, and intentional, acts of kindness, each day, wherever I happen to be.

    Community- I will remain actively involved with my Baha’i community, with the Red Cross, with Angels of Prescott, and with Slow-Food Prescott.

    I will serve out the remaining months of my term with the American Legion Post, though continuing as its Chaplain is a matter on which I am undecided, at this point.

    Extended community-  I will continue to expand on the size of this.

    I will visit with friends both locally and farther afield.

    I will offer daily  messages and acts of support to those in my world.

    I will continue to share and educate people, regarding  Essential Oils.

    I will make a journey, in late May and the month of June, to the Pacific Northwest and  to Southeast Alaska.

    Knowing these affirmations and goals will resonate with some, and viewed askance by others, I will honour them anyway.

Comments (2)

  • Gary, I cannot fathom that anyone would look askance at these perfectly wonderful goals. We all need to be so involved in community, personal growth, and formation and maintenance of friendships. Bravo to you and your goals!
    ps. Happy New Year!

  • Thank you, Val. Your support has been constant, and is ever appreciated!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment