December 15, 2014

  • The Road to 65, Mile 16: Whose Yule?

    December 14, 2014- I skirted the fringes of a Facebook scuffle over A) which December holiday was better and B) who has any right to say Islam should not be practiced in American schools?  Hmmm.  The first one seems to be a tussle over pride of place.  To my way of thinking, there is plenty of room for all celebrations.  Yule, or Winter Solstice, is the oldest, going back to the pre-Christian Celts, at least.  Chanukah came next, in terms of chronology.  Christmas has the widest appeal, and greatest social cache, worldwide.  Modern and values-based, Kwanzaa delivers a viable message that Africans were never, historically, a primitive group of peoples.  Festivus?  Hey, what the heck, let the good times roll.

    This is the time of year when people like myself can sit back and honour a wide variety of religious practices.  I still send cards and small gifts to Christian family and friends,  and light the Menorah that Penny, Aram and I kept lit, in honour of her family.  I can’t chant the blessing, as she did, but the respect is there.  I also feel the spark of energy that comes with Solstice, as the days get infinitesimally longer.

    Fighting over holidays is as silly as parents fighting at Little League games.  I can only wish one and all a peaceful season.

Comments (6)

  • I agree. We need to respect each other. Too much disrespect for other human beings is on display. May your Christmas be blessed! :-)

  • In our town the parents start arguing in T-Ball...they argue over religion too, so so silly! Merry Christmas to You, maybe you could learn the chant for your wife!

  • Amen! There are eventually more similarities than differences. What the world needs now is love (and love is dripping with respect and tolerance and compassion and patience...).

  • I have yet to feel my spirit harmed by taking part in the holidays of faiths other than my own. Love does indeed drip with all those good things.

    Thank you, ladies, and may your Christmas be also blessed.

  • Again, it all comes down to mutual respect.

  • Exactly, John!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories