October 7, 2014

  • The Secular and The Sacred: A Journey to Salt Lake City, Part IV

    September 19-20, 2014-  I made the short drive from Salt Palace to the Utah State Capitol complex, on the Friday afternoon of the  Convention.  Like many Capitol buildings, Utah’s is built in the style of ancient

    Greece and Rome, with a cupola in the middle.  It is smaller than some, but every bit as majestic in its approach.

    SAM_2835

    The area was deserted, save for a lone young Native American man, who had planted himself in front of the central vantage point for photographing the building.  Thus, everyone who wanted such a photo would have to include him in the shot, or at least ask his leave, before photographing.  I had no such designs, and chose the northeastern angle for making my photograph.  Some days, I’m more isolationist than others.

    Across the street are the Old Salt Lake City Hall, and the 18th Ward Chapel.  Mormons refer to their “parishes” as “wards”.  The ward building was moved here from further down the hill, so as to make room for a larger civic project, while preserving the older building.

    SAM_2836

    SAM_2842

    A two-sided memorial to the Mormon pioneers is also on the Capitol grounds.

    SAM_2837

    SAM_2839

    As another reader pointed out yesterday, Mormon families are especially proud of ancestors who were pioneers that pulled a hand cart, in the process of settlement. I set my vehicle towards one more night at Wasatch Inn, and a fish dinner at Coachmans.

    The next day, once the Convention was officially over, I forewent a post-convention concert, and headed for home.  One stop was left, at the well-lit LDS temple in Manti, a small, but thriving farming community, about two hours south of Salt Lake City.

    SAM_2849

    I learned immense amounts of information during those three days, all of it practical.  Essential oils will loom large in my life, over the next several years.

Comments (7)

  • I love the capitol building - very nice but then I'm a bit of a traditionalist! Anyway the photo of the Manti temple at night is lovely - just wish it weren't blurry - might be a great screen saver!!

  • Thanks for viewing, Val.

  • I much respect the Mormon way of life.

  • I loved visiting Salt Lake City too. It felt like a safe place. I love their emphasis on families.

    About your comment, did you think about the horses of Revelation? What if the black horse is ISIS and the pale horse Ebola? I shudder to think about the panic that could shut the whole world down. I guess then would be the time rich men would throw their gold into the streets. :-( I shall go think cheerful thoughts in the basement now!

  • It's always good to see the best aspects of a group which differs from one's own, so long as they are not harming a segment of their community. The Mormons take care of one another, certainly.
    Miriam, I am not sure who is which Horse, but I know this is another of those times to which St. John alludes. Those who live rightly by their neighbours will be rewarded.

  • beautiful architecture....

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment