July 27, 2014

  • An Eastward Homage, Day 15, Part IV: Carnac, Looking to the Sky

    June 10, 2014-  Depending on who is digging where, the megaliths of Carnac were first erected in 4500 BC, 3300 BC, or somewhere in between.  There is an equal diversity of opinion as to the WHY of these magnificent fields of stone.  Some say they are astronomical indicators.  There are others whose take is that they are strictly for religious ceremonies.  Another group postulates that Merlin turned the Roman legions here into stone.  These are, of course, the same people who say that a Nineteen-Foot Tall Giant is going to land in Antarctica,next week, and take us all to Planet Pneumonococcus.

    I had a nice bus ride from Vannes to Carnac-Plage, on that afternoon.  The town drunk of Carnac was on board, and while he had been yelling about the bus to Paris being late, prior to this bus’s arrival, he promptly fell asleep, once we got rolling.  We went through nice little towns along the way.  One of these was Auray, which has the Cathedral of St. Goustan.SAM_0208

     

    I would return to Auray later that night, but more about that later.

    When we arrived at Carnac-Plage, the resort end of town, I learned that most of my fellow riders were more interested in the beach, than in the rows of rocks.  The town imbiber, of course, still wanted to go to Paris, but figured he’d make do with his own flat for the time being.  I tok a quick look at the shore.

     

     

    SAM_0209

     

    The modern gem of Carnac, though, is Jardin Cesarine.  The town park has an imaginative rope course.

    SAM_0211

     

    The garden itself held my attention, happily, for twenty minutes, or so.

    SAM_0213

     

    SAM_0217

     

    SAM_0218

     

    It was the Parc des Megaliths, which stayed in my head, and drew me in short order.  There are three large sections of the park:  Menec, Kemerio (House of the Dead) and Kerlescan, and a smaller area, Petit-Menec.

    Here are some scenes of Menec, the western, and largest, segment of alignments, with a few single menehir (Stones that are partly buried), in between.

    SAM_0224

     

    SAM_0234

     

    SAM_0237

     

    SAM_0260

    At this fence, and road, I left Menec and came to Kemerio- the House of the Dead.  To be sure, parts of this area looked like a cemetery, and it is here that the Merlin Theory got started.  There was a busload of Italian senior citizens with me, for part  of the time.  Their chatter was constant, but it was actually quite refreshing.  Looking at rows of stones for two hours does get a bit lonesome- unless one believes they are actually Roman soldiers.

    SAM_0262

     

    The farm house in the background is occupied, and there is a herd of Brittany sheep doing landscaping duty.  These sheep are a Heritage Food Source, so are prized by Slow Food France and other people concerned with the diversity of our diet.  I am a member of Slow Food USA, so the sheep captured my interest.

    SAM_0269

     

    SAM_0270

     

    There were lonely menihir in this section,as in Menec.

    SAM_0306

     

    This horizontal piece looked like a beached whale.SAM_0320

     

    This piece reminded me of the donkey at Block Island Petting Zoo, last year, who came up to the fence and couldn’t get enough food

    .SAM_0328

     

    The Kerlescan section is smaller than the other two main sections, and rounds out the park, at the east end.SAM_0340

    Kerlescan was also more of interest to local farmers, as a source of stone and water.  This abandoned cistern bears witness to their efforts.SAM_0349

     

    One enterprising pair of sisters is making a go of serving up fine food and beverages:  Chez Celine, where I enjoyed one very filling crepe- the only meal I would have on that evening. Since it was chocolate, with orange marmalade, who’s to complain?

    SAM_0354

     

    I was the only American who had been there in quite some time, so the ladies took to giggling. themselves amusing me and a German gentleman who was enjoying a glass of wine.

    Across the road from Chez Celine is Petit- Menec, the baby brother of the Big Three.

    SAM_0352

     

    Crucino Dolmen was once a tomb, but acid in Brittany’s soil has worn away the bones.

    SAM_0357

     

    To the east of the Dolmen, I entered Bois Saint-Michel, a hiking trail which a honeymooning couple had taken, an hour or so earlier.  It would lead me back to Carnac-Plage.

    SAM_0358

     

    There are two landmarks associated with St. Michael (the man, not the Archangel), on this path.  First, I came upon his fountain.

    SAM_0361

    The tomb of this French patron saint is at the northern edge of Carnac-Ville.

    SAM_0365

    I saw a similarity between the tumulus, and Mont St. Michel.

    The “cone” turned out to be Chapel St. Yves.

    SAM_0367

    It was late, but still light, so I was fooled a bit.  My arrival back in town left only one mode of transport available.  A kind boulangere called the first taxi, which got me to Auray. After I used the ATM,  a gentleman on business in Auray called the second one, which brought me to Place Verlanne, from which I was able to use my legs to get to the hotel.  All’s fair in love, war and an extended evening at a remote place of interest.  Carnac shows that we indeed come from highly intelligent, imaginative stock.

Comments (6)

  • Maybe it is the geek in me but the megaliths are much more interesting than the beach!! This leg of the journey is fascinating. I wish you had been able to photograph a person next to some of the rocks for scale... all the different sections of the park are unique - love the look of rows of sentinels in the last one.

  • We were not allowed inside the fenced-off area, Val. Most stones, though,looked to be about shoulder high on me, and I am 5' 9".

  • To the reader willing to make the commmitment, your posts well reward the effort.

  • Thank you, John!

  • How interesting and educational! I am learning so much on this trip of yours.

  • It is humbling to read this, Zakiah. I am always glad to offer that service.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment